Monday, July 23, 2012

Book Review: Awakened by PC Cast and Kristin Cast

Synopsis: Neferet is in the midst of becoming the biggest and badest High priestess of the dark.  She has now entangled Kalona as her consort and will do anything to destroy Zoey now that Zoey is back from the other realm.

Book Review:  While I like the series in general, I did not like the Zoey vs Kalona vs Neferet angle.  I think it is because I am bored of Zoey taking her sweet ass time to take control of the situation and kick Kalona and Neferet's butt.  I understand Zoey lost her consort but she's got real big problems to solve, like save the world from darkness!

Okay I feel better now.  I just needed to vent because Zoey's storyline with Stark is a bit slow for me.  On the other hand, I really like Steve Rae and Raphaim angle.  I enjoyed how they were now given access to be together but only if Raphaim is serious about leaving his father behind.

I can always count on Aphrodite.  She's still mean, clean and with her man, Darius even if she appeared so many times in the book.

Bottom Line: Neferet is still laying low and acting really nice so don't be expecting much action from her.  As for Zoey, same deal. 

 PhotobucketPhotobucketNothing Special


Book Review: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Hi everyone.  I made some time to finish a few books and I'm very excited to share my thoughts with all of you. 

Synopsis: The Lovely Bones is about a fourteen year old girl who decides to follow a elderly neighbor to a "secret hideout" to only be brutally raped and murdered.   The family is torn apart from the crime and not sure if they will ever be the family they once were.

Review: The book follows the girl's soul through the tragic scene and the aftermath that is her family.  You are given a front row seat into the moments where the mom and dad begin to show signs of "I'm lost and don't know what to do".  This is where you think the family could somehow unite but unfortunately, very slowly everyone begins to drift apart.  While the little brother is too small to understand, it is the middle sister who becomes the glue of the family only to quietly suffer while stepping into mother role.

The most interesting deal with this book is that while you see the family cracking, you see this whole perspective from the fourteen year old.  She is in this forever state of "her version of heaven".  The heaven is brilliantly described by the author.  Her heaven every now and then changes according to her attachment to her family.

As for the crime and who done it, that is a big part of the book, but I don't want to spoil that.

The book, while a bit scary for me because of the topic, I still decided to give it a chance.  I wanted a difference pace and subject matter and it was very moving.

I recommend you not read the book before you go to sleep.  It only leaves a feeling of dread and sorrow for the young protagonist.   

Bottome Line:  The author paints a rich and wonderful heaven, but back at the family's home, tragedy is always one step away.  Great book, great change of pace and I do recommend this book for older readers especially because of the subject matter.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketWORTH READING


Thursday, May 31, 2012

Book Review: ***Spoilers***The Hunger Games Book Series by Suzanne Collins

Okay, I give. It's true. I finally read The Hunger Games Trilogy. I know. I should have done it along time ago when I saw Team Peeta and Team Gayle. But my first thought was these guys must be riding the coat tale of team Jacob and Team Edward. It took a whole year to understand their stories. And I love them for that.

The trilogy of the Hunger Games was such an intense read and looking back on it, the movie I felt was as true as it could be on screen compared to the first book. That is what actually got me to read the trilogy.

About a year ago, when Elizabeth and I were blogging like crazy, I would see on some of my favorite book blogs, team Peeta or team Gayle, and I just thought, who are these characters for crying out loud? Well my friends, I am up to speed and awaiting Catching Fire.

Book Review: The Hunger Games was a great start to the trilogy. Peeta was written as a sensitive guy with balls of steel. I like that. Katniss was very Heroic and with this intense look and a heart of gold. Gayle, I still didn't quite understand but then he didn't really have a big part in it.

I disliked Haymitch for a good while but I felt he had maybe gone through something more horrific than the hunger games. I don't know, slowly though I began to dislike him less and less throughout the book. I wasn't too keen on his drinking habit or his sarcasm.

I was really charged after I finished The hunger games because I was awaiting some happy go lucky moment with Katniss and Peeta, which, bummer, didn't happen. Which brings me to Catching Fire. Wow, I did NOT expect a second hunger games. Nor did I expect a lovely Finn. I did, however, feel for Katniss. She wasn't sure she even liked Peeta, to end up planning to marry him. I can only imagine this dilemma when you are being blackmailed by the capital's president.

As for Mockingjay, when I read the last few pages, I was left with a very sad and heavy heart.  Sad because Katniss and Peeta still had nightmares like real people do when having fought in a war. I mean the ending was very real of what people in war go through. I guess what I'm trying to say is that the ending wasn't as happy as I wanted it to be, you know? Where the guy gets the girl, and they marry and they have a happy ever after. Peeta and Katniss still suffered, they still had to deal with traumas but they did take it day by day and eventually began a family. But it sounded very difficult and very real. Suzanne Collins mentioned somewhere that her father talked alot about war and there effects and she really brought that to life in her books and on the big screen.

Bottom Line: The Hunger Games Trilogy was a very intense read, entertaining and left a very strong message about war and the effects on the human spirit.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket WORTH READING

The next Book Review might be Awakend or Lovely Bones, which ever one I finish first. See you then.


Friday, November 4, 2011

Book Review: A 13 to life book series by Shannon Delany

Photobucket I distinctly remember a beautiful blue cover catching my eye as i searched for new books to read on the main page of barnes&noble. I had just got off from a Twilight high and was ready for something more; something great. Two years later, I hit barnes&noble with my brand new son, 7 months now and a complete cutie pie, I remembered the beautiful blue cover. Instead of buying the first book, I bought the series. And boy was I NOT disappointed.

Shannon Delany is a wonderful, creative and completely refreshing author in her 13 to life book series.

Jessica Gillmansen and Pietr Rusakova is the new couple to beat...Edward and Bella, eat your heart out...Jessica and Pietr sizzle like no other couple in high school you've EVER encountered.

And Max, forget about it. He's the macho brother you want around and the boyfriend you want to be with forever!!

I can't forget, Alexi, Amy, Cat, Sarah, and oh my...Derek.

So when I say refreshing, I mean it. The characters are fascinating and compete for you attention, Shannon Delany makes them come alive.

13 to Life is a wonderful series everyone will enjoy.

I don't want to give anything away. It has to be a complete suprise to the reader so pick up your copy from your local library or book store and read it NOW.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket LIKED IT (A LOT)!

Keep your eyes and ears open for the fourth installment to 13 to life by Shannon Delany.  (see ticker above)


Sunday, April 24, 2011

Wonderful baby boy

Hi everyone! My husband and I want to share some wonderful news. On April 4, 2011 at 7:47pm, we welcomed our newest member to the family, Isac Alejandro.

Seeing his face every morning is a blessing and so rewarding. I can't believe I have this wonderful baby boy;) At the same time, we are pooped and sleep deprived. And so with that, I regret to inform you all that I will be out of commission for a few months with the book blog...until I get a better handle on my newest job, being a mommy.

Thanks to you all for your patience and we wish everyone happy reads!!


Friday, March 25, 2011


Hi guys!! It's Elizabeth here and I just wanted to do a quick post for you guys to please please please check out my new blog about My Life Changing Journey! To check it out, go to this link

I've been super crazy busy the last few months but just want to say that I am in love with Lara Adrian and Sherrilyn Kenyon...I just can't stop reading these two authors!!

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Teen Fiction Coming Soon!

Hi everyone!  Here's a quick look at some great reads I can't wait for.

I'm a huge fan of The Chronicles of Nick so I will be getting my hands on book 2 and as for Becca's Fitzpatrick's third book, I'll be all over it. I love Patch and Nora's explosive chemistry ;)

I'm sure I've missed other books coming soon but if you have a book that you think I'd just love to read and it's soon to come out, tell me about it. I want to hear what you have to say.

Happy Reads!

Invincible: The Chronicles of Nick
Invincible: The Chronicles of Nick (Hardcover - Book 2)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Release: March 22, 2011

Red Glove (Curse Workers, Book 2)
The Red Gloves (Curse Workers, Hardcover, Book 2)
Author: Holly Black
Release: April 5, 2011

Passion (Fallen)
Passion (A Fallen Novel, Hardcover - Book 3)
Author: Lauren Kate
Release: June 14, 2011

Silence (Hardcover - Book 3)
Author: Becca Fitzpatrick
Release: October 4, 2011